Virginia Cardinal Award

The Virginia Cardinal Award is VASBO's premier recognition given to one of its members each year for exemplifying professionalism, leadership, and innovation in the field of school business management. The award winner is announced at the Spring VASBO conference. The winner also attends the Southeast Association of School Business Officials (SASBO) the following year and is recognized as the Outstanding School Business Official for the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nominations are accepted year round but close on March 1st for the current award year. If you know a member of VASBO (even those on the current Board) who has made a significant impact in local and state school business finance, please complete the Cardinal Award Nomination Form (make a copy so that you can edit the form and then "print to PDF") and email a PDF of the filled out form to the VASBO Executive Director, Steve Bateson at [email protected] by March 1, 2020.

As we have every year since 2009, VASBO members nominates some of their outstanding peers. The 11th Cardinal Award winner is Krista Kelly, Executive Director of Finance for Manassas Park City Schools. Ms. Kelly has served just under 10 years as a School Business Officer but has achieved a lot in those 10 years. She started as a HS math teacher for seven years at Manassas Park after a career in engineering and finance and used that wide variety of experience to provide strong leadership in Manassas Park City Schools and in training sessions for VASBO while fully understanding the needs and concerns of teachers. Ms. Kelly has been a member of VASBO since 2011 and has had the opportunity to serve as Education Committee Chair.  According to her Superintendent, "Ms. Kelly is an innovative and thorough thinker and adept at evaluating numerous alternatives before recommending a best course of action. [Besides her leadership on the City/School ERP implementation and the implementation of the balanced calendar (2015-2018),] Ms. Kelly also led MPCS's efforts to revise its compensation model....Because of Ms. Kelly's innovative approach in maximizing assets, our new non-traditional pay structure is now a sought-after model for divisions throughout the Commonwealth." Ms. Kelly, congratulations on being the 2019 Cardinal Award Winner!


Krista Kelly receiving her Cardinal Award.  

 Cardinal Award Winners

2009 Edith Williams - Richmond County
2010 James Meyer - Spotsylvania County
2011 David Cline - Prince William County
2012 William Flaherty - Spotsylvania County
2013 Dennis Jarrett - York County
2014 Penny Hodge - Roanoke County
2015 Lisa Frye - Frederick County
2016 Joanne Wright - King and Queen County
2017 Tina Cropp - Madison County
2018 - Bill Bowen - York County

2019- Krista Kelly- Manassas Park City Schools